Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Tune in to the French News at 7:30am and at 5:00pm and Cajun Rendezvous weekdays 4-5pm, Cajun Saturday all day Saturday on The Legend 1050 KVPI AM
Enjoy Classic Country music around the clock Sunday through Friday on KVPI 1050 The Legend and on

Are you making plans to attend the Experience Louisiana Festival in Eunice?
Add a Comment
(Fields are Optional)
Your email address is never published.
View Results
Local News
Subscribe To This Feed  View All

Candidate Qualifications Ends in Evangeline Parish

July 20, 2018


    Candidate qualifying ended at 4:30 Friday afternoon, according to Clerk of Court Randy Deshotel. Here are the candidates that qualified on Friday for the November 6 Primary Election:

Village of Chataignier- Chief of Police- Josh Clint Brasseaux; Alderman Joseph H. Simien; Alderman- Debra Fontenot;

Village of Turkey Creek- Mayor Phillip Cavins and Council Member- Joey Ducote;

Town of Mamou- Mayor: David Charlie; Chief of Police- Brent Zackery and Michael Thomas; Alderman District 2- Brook Chapman; Alderman District 3- Charles Reed;

City of Ville Platte- Alderman District D- Lionel Anderson; District E- Lucian J. McKinney Jr. and Alderman District F-Bryant Riggs;

Town of Basile- Alderman at Large- Catina Molitor Hebert;

School Board- District 10- Maggie Ortego.

Here is the full list of candidates who qualified for candidates seeking political office:

Secretary of State:  Kyle Ardoin (Incumbent) , Heather Cloud (who has served as Mayor of Turkey Creek), Gwen Collins Greenup, A.G. Crowe, Rick Edmonds, Renee Fontenot Free, Thomas Kennedy III, Matthew “Matt” Moreau, and Julie Stokes.

Congressman-4th District: Mark David Halverson, Mike Johnson (incumbent) and Ryan Trundle;

Evangeline Parish School Board:

District 1- Lonnie Sonnier (incumbent), District 2- Dr. Bobby Deshotel (incumbent), District 3-Ted Patrick Soileau and Karen Vidrine; District 4- Wayne Dardeau (incumbent) ; District 5- Peggy Forman (Incumbent); District 6- Michael Fontenot (Incumbent); District 7- Sheila Joseph; District 8- Wanda Skinner (incumbent); District 9- Scott Limoges (Incumbent); District 10- Maggie Ortego and Arthur Savoy (incumbent); District 11- Nancy Hamlin (incumbent); District 12- Ellis Guillory (incumbent) and Calvin Leday Jr.; District 13- Chris Guillory and Georgianna Wilson (incumbent).

Ville Platte: Mayor –Kevin Lafleur and Jennifer Vidrine (Incumbent); Chief of Police-Linton Fontenot and Neal Lartigue (incumbent); Council Members-District A-C.J. Dardeau (incumbent) and Faye Lemoine; District B-Jerry Joseph (incumbent) ; District C-Mike Perron (Incumbent) ; District D-Lionel Anderson and Vashanski “Shanky “Thomas; District E-Lucian McKinney Jr. and Donald Ray Sam (incumbent); District F-Kathan Arvie and Bryant Riggs (incumbent).

Mamou- Mayor-David Charlie, Gerald Fontenot and Ricky Fontenot (Incumbent); Chief of Police-Michael “Gorilla” Fruge, Charles Perdices, Michael Thomas and Brent Zachery (incumbent); Alderman- At Large- Leisa Deshotel (incumbent); District 1-Freddie Matthew (Incumbent) and Derrell “Sheaky” Thomas; District 2-Brook Chapman and Clayton “Tiny” McGee; District 3-Glyn Brunet, Eugene Manuel and Charles Reed (Incumbent); District 4-Robin Young (incumbent).

Basile-Mayor Mark Denette (incumbent); Chief of Police-Allen Ivory Thomas (incumbent), Gregory James and Nicholas Richardson;  Alderman-Alderman at Large-Travis Deshotel and Catina Molitor-Herbert; Alderman-District 1-Latoya Howze; Alderman District (Three to be Elected)-Kenny Burgess, Caleb Delafosse, Bron Dubroc, and Kristy Miller;

Chataignier-Mayor- Justin Darbonne and Jackie Malveaux Thomas (incumbent); Chief of Police-Joseph Clint Brasseaux; Alderman (Three to be Elected) -Carilyn “Tu” Arvie, John B. Brasseaux, Debra Fontenot and Joseph H. Simien;

Turkey Creek- Mayor-Phillip Cavins; Alderman- (Three to be elected)-Joey Ducote, Billy Neal King Jr and Kurry Stewart.

Audio Now

  • Cajun Revue with Troy LeJeune and Tyler Rayon Cajun Revue with Troy LeJeune and Tyler Rayon
  • Jack Miller's Winner from Indiana Jack Miller's Winner from Indiana
LinkedUpRadio Envisionwise Web Services